Menu Close

The Council of Knight Masons

Within Knight Masonry, the story of the Temple in Jerusalem is expanded further with the description of the building of the second Temple. It is the natural continuation of the story of Solomon’s Temple as detailed in Craft Lodges and Royal Arch Chapters.

3 (Three) Degrees are conferred in Councils of Knight Masons:

  • Knight of the Sword
  • Knight of the East
  • Knight of the East and West

Within these Degrees, the story of the second Temple is explained. The events contained within these Degrees can be seen all over the world in many different Masonic Orders.

It is widely agreed that in the Irish Constitution these Degrees are conferred in the most elaborate detail in an accurate chronological order.

Just like a Craft Lodge, a Mark Lodge and a Royal Arch Chapter, Councils of Knight Masons are open to all Freemasons of any faith or background and they do not have to be invited to join. Simply ask!

The requirement for joining is membership of a Royal Arch Chapter for at least 1 (one) year. The Degrees themselves are intricate and detailed and convey impressive lessons of virtue and truth, and by becoming a Knight Mason you are completing the Masonic Legend of the Temple in Jerusalem as contained the Irish Constitution’s Workings.

(Source: “An Initial Guide to Freemasonry in Ireland”, Grand Lodge of Ireland)